top of page
yjcervan

Week 3 : Developing the Habits of the Mind



Curiosity

During the assignment of annotating Killing Us Softly 4 by Jean Kilbourne we also reacted to other people's work, there I saw people comment on their experiences from different cultures. Since, they had these experiences in other places that made me curious to know more. Through seeing their own annotations I was able to see outside of my view of where I live. My experiences are similar in some aspects, but they still vary.

 

Openness

When we do the responses to other people’s explanatory writing, I sometimes get feedback that has a different perspective. Or when I am just looking through the responses I see how others think. I see similarities, but also differences that are good because not everything is the same.

 

Engagement

During the duration of Killing Us Softly 4, reading the essay and article on McGraw-Hill Connect I remained interested and followed along. They are interesting works that keep me attentive and I don’t feel lost when doing the assignments. They have topics I had not focused on before and provide information that is new. That makes me want to know more about it and remain engaged.

 

Creativity

Through my assignments I have not felt that I have presented information in a novel way. I try to present the ideas and information thoroughly, so when they are read people understand my point of view. I feel when the podcast and easy come along I will be able to think outside the box and provide information in a way people are interested.

 

Persistence

So far I feel I have been persistent with the course, I have turned in my work on time and tried to do as best as possible. There are more assignments and more complex ones on the way that I feel I will still be persistent to. The assignments have provided text that is interesting and that helps me complete it.

 

Flexibility

The course has not demanded things abruptly and I am aware of when things are due. So, I have not experienced a moment where an assignment caught me off guard, yet at least. I had to adapt to the course work required because I had not had writing before so I was not sure of how much would be assigned.

 

Responsibility

There are several assignments throughout the week that I need to turn in on time, this is a responsibility I have to the course. So far I have been responsible and turned in the assignments and met the requirements.

 

Metacognition

The reflection blogs have been what really give me time to look back at the assignments and what they cover. This lets me see how I have been performing and what I have learned so far. Also, when we do responses to each other I see my work again and how others viewed it, I see it differently then when I turn it in.


13 views

Recent Posts

See All

3 comentários


Wei Huang
Wei Huang
01 de fev. de 2021

Hello Yajaira, I also enjoy looking at other’s perspectives on the topics we write about. It allows me to think creatively and encourages intellectual conversations.

Curtir

Yun Chen
Yun Chen
01 de fev. de 2021

Hi Yajaira

For mine I kind of switch the flexibility and persistence. It means that my explanation for the flexibility is what you write about the persistence of the time scheduling. The similarity of these two explanations is they all about time management.

Curtir

Wanyi Shi
Wanyi Shi
28 de jan. de 2021

Hi, Yajaira. Podcast is a good way to practice creativity since it is a group projects. People need to present their own ideas in the group to make the podcast special and unique.

Curtir
bottom of page