top of page
yjcervan

Week 2 : Improvement So Far

This week the assignments due required annotating. It had been a long time since I looked at text and annotated key points of it. While watching the video by Jean Kilbourne I took quotes that were important themes and looked into them more. By doing this I felt more comfortable with the text and comprehended the video overall better. The course objective I believe this exercise helped in was, Improve your written literacy, digital literacy, and overall communication skills across several media. I was looking at a video instead of straight text, this goes into digital literacy. Also, under the objective annotations are included as part of it, which was a large focus not only in the video, but in the essay by Haas and Trapedo. Annotating the essay was helpful to focus on some of the key points of it as well. This is an annotation that I wrote from Kilbourne's video," 5:37- Kilbourne says, “And the most important aspect of this flawlessness is that it cannot be achieved: no one looks like this, including her.”: she speaks on how the beauty standards for women are unrealistic and not attainable. She describes a woman figure that is nearly perfect which could not be real, but it is still the one that is advertised. She also shows how technology is used to tamper with real people, until they fit the ultimate beauty standards." This is only one of the main ideas, but it is foundational to her meaning. By quoting her and then summarizing what the quote was doing I felt I understood her point more clearly. I believe if I continue to do annotations, like the one shown earlier, with other text I encounter I will understand more. Annotating may seem as not essential since by reading one can see what the text is about, but it helps to truly understand the text and its meaning.

This image is how I like to read text, in a few steps, to do one thing at a time and gain comprehension of what I am reading or seeing.



11 views

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Cuiwen Zhou
Cuiwen Zhou
Jan 30, 2021

Hi, Yajaira! I do agree with you that the annotations help in understanding the materials better. I have never annotated a video before this course, which I think is even more effective than annotating a text. As I am writing the annotations and summary for each timestamp, I can find more insights than what is said in the video solely.

Like

Chengheng Lyu
Chengheng Lyu
Jan 20, 2021

Hi, I like your post. I appreciate the annotating skill you have. I also found annotating was helpful when I was reading the article.

Like
bottom of page